(MWB) Scream Queens Women Who Define Horror: Neve Campbell

1167

Most Well Known For: Portraying Sydney Prescott in the Scream Series

Horror Credentials:

  • The Craft (1996) – Bonnie
  • Scream (1996) – Sydney Prescott
  • Scream 2 (1997) – Sydney Prescott
  • Scream 3 (2000) – Sydney Prescott
  • Scream 4 (2011) – Sydney Prescott

Neve Campbell is one of my all time favorite Scream Queens Now before anyone gets up in arms about that. Here’s why, I didn’t get into horror until the mid 90s with 96 being a year of particular note. That’s the year I first saw Friday the 13th part 6: Jason Lives when it aired on late night TV and Scream came out.  I was aware of Neve Campbell from her work on Party of Five, a show that I only paid casual attention to at the time. But when I saw she was in not one but two upcoming horror movies  Scream and The Craft I made it a point to see them. Unfortunately as I was around 12 at the time I was unable to see them in theaters. But I rented the ever loving shit out of them later.

Scream can easily be placed in my top ten favorite horror films and is my second favorite slasher. Scream is only surpassed in my heart by Friday the 13th Part 6 the two of which made me a horror fan and a huge fan of the slasher sub genre in particular.

I have heard it argued that Neve Campbell doesn’t count as a true Scream Queen, as she doesn’t reflect the model of the final girl and is more in line with a Victim-Hero or is only a final girl in the first film with the role of Sydney shifting through the sequels. To those people I say “You are entitled to that opinion and you might be right”. But with out her iconic role as Sydney Prescott constantly surviving the endless assaults of the ghost faced killer chances are I would have drastically different tastes in movies. So one way or an another I feel she has more then earned the title.

Leave a Reply

