The Blob (1958)

blob_xlgThe 1950’s started seeing the prominent rise of color films being the norm. The Blob has become after viewing it, my favorite early color film, it also stars Steve McQueen in debut role. I love how many famous actors come out horror films and apparently regardless of the era. After finally seeing this film I’m glad to say I enjoyed it immensely more than I thought I would. Which makes sense as I have a well-known fondness for B-Movies and Cult films, both of which The Blob is.  I also really enjoyed learning that Pheonixville, Pennsylvania holds and annual Blobfest, that includes re-creating the scene where moviegoers flee the theater. Just going to add attending that to my bucket list.

The film opens with Steve Andrews (Steve McQueen) and his girlfriend Jane Martin (Aneta Corsaut) parked on Lovers Lane, when the pair witnesses a shooting star land near by. They go to investigate the crash, but an old man (Olin Howland) finds it first and breaks it open while poking at it with a stick. Inside is a small Blob that quickly attaches its self to the old man’s hand. In pain and unable to get the Blob off him, he stumbles into the road nearly getting hit by Steve and Jane. Steve takes the old man to Doctor Hallen (Stephen Chase), who sends Steve back out to try find out what happened to him. After Steve and Jane leave, Doctor Hallen decides to amputate the old mans arm. But is too late and the old man is consumed completely, causing The Blob to grow. It then consumes both the Doctor and his nurse.Steve returns just in time to witness Doctor Hallen be consumed and does the smart thing, go to the cops. Who actually go investigate, but when they arrive there’s no sign of the creature or  victims. This causes the police to write off Steve’s claim as a teenage prank and get taken home. But not for long as the two sneak out to get help warning the town and go to the theater to enlist the aid of Tony (Robert Fields) and some of his friends. All the while the Blob keeps consuming people and growing in size. Steve and the others use fire alarms and air raid sirens to wake up the town. When the police show up Steve is vindicated as the people start fleeing the theater as the Blob has consumed so many people it’s now massive in size and scale. Steve, Jane and her little brother Danny (Keith Almoney) along with two others get trapped in dinner as the Blob envelopes the building, trapping them inside…

The Blob is well-known B-Movie and is a great example of creative film making. In 50+ years since it’s release it still manages to be fun and enjoyable. The Blob manages to stay fun, while playing it serious. The acting is a high point for me, but that might just be fandom talking. I’ve yet to see a Steve McQueen film I haven’t liked. The supporting cast does a fun job, and keep up with McQueen when needed.

The 1950’s atmosphere of The Blob is for me one to the really high points.  The look of the film has aged so well its amazing. Although I have to point out that these are some pretty rosy images to paint on an era that is just as defined by its racial politics as by its fashion. So I would never look at this film as actually depicting the time in which is was made and that might be part of while it has endured so well.

Final thoughts, I haven’t seen the 1988 remake of this film and I plan to now. It does have some pretty big shoes to fill and I’m eager to see what they did. I wish I could have seen this film in a Drive-In, as I kept having that thought while watching this film. The Blob is a film that has aged well, in my opinion and is still worth watching today. 9/10

One comment

Leave a Reply

